Bleach Thousand Year Blood War Ending Theme Artist Interview

The ending the theme for Bleach Thousand Year Blood War is Saihate performed by Sennarin. Today the artist gave us her on the theme as well as other things. Such as her daily routine as well as her take on Bleach. Also the music video. You can see it below translated from the site. Warning I used google so if it is a big funny here there that is why. I will post the original encase anyone wants to translate it themselves.

Translations.

―Please tell us how you felt when you decided to be in charge of the ending theme for “Millennium Blood War”.

SennaRin (hereinafter SennaRin)I was very happy to be able to be involved in BLEACH, which is loved all over the world and which I myself love.
Before it was decided that I would be in charge of the ending theme for “Millennium Blood Battle,” I had the opportunity to perform live at an anime event overseas, and there was a booth for “BLEACH” at the event venue, and there were fans who were wielding swords around there (laughs).
I realized firsthand that BLEACH is loved all over the world.
Because of such a connection, when I found out that I would be in charge of the ending theme, I was surprised that it was fate.

――Please tell us about your encounter with BLEACH.

SennaRinI knew BLEACH from a young age, but it wasn’t until I started working as an artist that I really learned about the story.
When I announced that I had added the surname “Akane Shizuku” to the name of the lyrics and credits, there was a comment “Do you like Akane Shizuku from BLEACH?”, and I was curious and looked it up.
From there, I started to come into contact with the original story, and I read the original story with enthusiasm (laughs).
I’m a big fan now!

Akane Shizuku in “BLEACH MEMORIES OF NOBODY THE MOVIE”

――Do you have a favorite character?

SennaRinI think the character Akane Shizuku was a fateful encounter, so I have a special feeling.
Akane Shizuku is an original character from BLEACH MEMORIES OF NOBODY the Movie, but of course I also love the characters that appear in the original story.
But they’re all wonderful characters, so my favorite characters change depending on the time of year (laughs).
When I watched “Millennium Blood Battle” at the advance screening, Ichigo was so cool that my enthusiasm for Ichigo was at its peak.
I really like Urquiola now.
I was blown away by that coolness (laughs).
Among the Thirteen Guards, I like Hitsugaya, who also has a cool side.

――What is the appeal of BLEACH for you?

SennaRinThis is where the characters’ every word of dialogue resonates with me.
It’s hard to express in words, but I feel the way the words sound that can only be experienced in BLEACH.
Even though the original story is expressed only by letters and pictures, it is very cool because it has a powerful power that conveys even the sound and atmosphere, and I was surprised that each scene was so beautiful like a movie that I thought, “This is what so-called “kamisakuga” means!”
Since it is the final chapter, even though I read it in the original story, I am curious about how that scene will be portrayed, and the background music in the play is also very wonderful, so I am very much looking forward to it as a viewer.

――Are there any episodes that left a lasting impression on you when you were creating the music?

SennaRinThe “Dunspadun” part of the intro was not there at the time of the first demo, but we decided to include it with the voice of producer Hiroyuki Sawano when recording.
This intro completely changed the mood of the song and made it even cooler, so I thought Mr. Sawano was a magician (laughs).
Originally, that part had a wind noise called “Shun!” like when you swing a sword, but that’s also cool like “BLEACH”, so I left it in the sound source. If you listen closely, you may hear the sound in the background of “Dunpadun”, so please listen to it.

――What is the theme of “The End”?

SennaRinWhen I wrote the lyrics, I imagined the “spiritual world.”
Personally, I think that the “spiritual world” is one of the points in BLEACH, and I wrote the chorus while imagining a scene where Ichigo and the inner void grasp each other and fall at breakneck speed.
However, I want to value the interpretation of the person who listened to it in the same way as “BLEACH”, so I will limit myself to talking about my thoughts.
I wrote the lyrics with many other meanings, so I’m really looking forward to seeing how everyone who listens to them will receive them, interpret them, and what kind of scenes they will imagine.

――How was shooting the music video?

SennaRinThe music video consists of two scenes: one in which they are trapped and connected, and one in the desert that is inspired by the “Faraway End”.
The desert scene was shot on the beach that looked like a desert, but it was very windy that day, so I scattered my hair and sang enthusiastically.
It was cloudy at the setting stage, but when I started shooting, it became a cloudless blue sky (laughs).
Actually, I’m a very sunny woman.
That power was also demonstrated at this time (laughs).
On the other hand, Mr. Sawano, who also took care of me in “The End”, is a rain man, but when we work together, he doesn’t bring an umbrella, saying, “If Rin is there, it won’t rain.”
They trust my sunny woman power that much, so it’s a big responsibility (laughs).

――”Millennium Blood Battle” depicts the “cause” or “battle” between the exterminator and the Shinigami, but are there any “causes” or “battles” that happened to you?

SennaRinShooting the music video for “The End” was just a battle with myself.
In the scene where I was trapped earlier, I shot it while connected by many tubes.
During the shoot, my head and hands were connected, and I couldn’t move at all for about 3~4 hours, which was difficult.
In the middle of filming, for some reason, the tube that connected me to the stage set lifted up (laughs).
At that time, I felt like a giveaway for UFO Catcher.
It was such a difficult shoot, so I did my best to make it a good video, and I think it turned out to be a very impactful MV.

――Do you have your own routine?

SennaRinI am the type of person who decides a lot of routines not only at work but also in my private life.
Before recording or singing live, brush your teeth to reset your mouth.
I had been doing this unconsciously for a long time, but the staff around me told me that I realized it (laughs).
Also, I’m the type of person who can’t write lyrics at home, so I definitely go to a café and work until it closes.
The lyrics of “The End” were also born in the café.
The menu you order and the position you sit in are always the same, so it seems that the clerk will remember your face by now.
I remembered the face of the clerk (laughs).

――What genres do you often input when you work?

SennaRinThe most common source of input is movies.
I can watch it casually, so on days when I don’t work, I watch 4~5 movies at home.
When it comes to writing lyrics, once I decide on a theme, I often just keep watching movies of the same genre or similar theme.
In the past, when I wrote a song called “Testimony” about people who make things, I watched a lot of non-fiction movies and TV shows called “Passion Continent.”
Recently, I like movies about the destruction of the earth, and I often watch them because they serve as a reference for my lyrics.
I watched a film called “Don’t Look Up” the other day, and I was drawn in by a surprising development that betrayed the “something” of the earth-doomsday system.
Also, it’s more of a hobby than an input, but I’ve always liked listening to music.
I loved the song “Re:pray” on Aimer’s album, which I used to listen to a lot when I was in elementary school, and when I grew up, I learned that it was the ending theme of the anime “BLEACH”.
In fact, I was happy to think that I had been exposed to BLEACH indirectly for a long time.

――Please give a message to your fans for future broadcasts.

SennaRinWhen it was decided that I would be in charge of the ending theme for BLEACH, I received a lot of warm comments, and I strongly felt the enthusiasm of the people who love BLEACH.
I think there are many people who use BLEACH as an encouragement and lesson in their lives, and I am one of them.
I’m really happy to be in charge of the ending theme of such a work!
I hope that many people will like “The End” along with “Millennium Blood Battle”.

TV anime “BLEACH Millennium Blood Battle” ending theme “The End” will be released from November 23 (Wednesday) (* Pre-distribution will start on October 18 (Tuesday)

Original

SennaRinさん(以下、SennaRin)世界中で愛され、そして私自身も大好きな『BLEACH』に関わらせていただけることが、心から嬉しかったです。
というのも、「千年血戦篇」のエンディングテーマを担当させていただくことが決まる前に、別件で海外のアニメイベントでライブをする機会があったのですが、イベント会場に『BLEACH』のブースが出展されていて、そこで斬魄刀をぐるぐる振り回しているファンの方がいらっしゃって(笑)。
『BLEACH』が世界中で愛されていることを肌で実感しました。
そんなご縁もあり、エンディングテーマを担当させていただくことを知ったときは「運命だな」とびっくりしちゃいました。

――『BLEACH』との出会いをお聞かせください。

SennaRin『BLEACH』は小さい頃から知っていましたが、物語をちゃんと知ったのは、アーティスト活動を始めてからです。
作詞やクレジットの名義に“茜雫”という苗字をつけたことを発表したときに、「『BLEACH』の茜雫が好きなんですか?」というコメントがあって、気になって調べたのがきっかけでした。
そこから原作にも触れるようになり、無我夢中で原作を読み進めてしまって(笑)。
今ではすっかり大ファンです!

――好きなキャラクターはいますか?

SennaRinやはり茜雫というキャラクターとは、運命の出会いだったと思うので特別な想いがありますね。
茜雫は『劇場版BLEACH MEMORIES OF NOBODY』のオリジナルキャラクターですが、もちろん原作に登場するキャラクターたちも大好きです。
でもみんな素敵なキャラクターなので、好きなキャラクターは時期によって変わります(笑)。
先行上映会で「千年血戦篇」を観たときは、一護がすごくかっこよかったので一護への熱が最高潮に高まりました。
今はウルキオラがすごく好きです。
あのクールさにやられてしまいました(笑)。
護廷十三隊の中だと、同じくクールな一面を持つ日番谷が好きです。

――Sennaさんにとって『BLEACH』の魅力はどういったところですか?

SennaRinキャラクターが発する一言一言のセリフが心に響くところです。
言葉では表現しづらいですが、『BLEACH』でしか味わえない言葉の響き方を感じています。
原作は文字と絵だけで表現されているのに、音や空気感までもが伝わってくるような迫力があってすごくかっこいいですし、アニメは、「いわゆる“神作画”というのはこういうことか!」と思うくらい、ひとつひとつのシーンが映画のように美しくて驚きました。
最終章ということで、原作で読んではいるけれど「あのシーンがどう描かれるのだろう」と気になりますし、劇中のBGMもすごく素晴らしいので、私も視聴者としてとても楽しみです。

疾走感と重厚感漂うサウンドに
“精神世界”の詞が合わさるエンディングテーマ

――楽曲の制作時に印象的に残っているエピソードはありますか?

SennaRinイントロの「ドゥンスパドゥン」という部分は、最初のデモのときにはなかったのですが、レコーディングの際にプロデューサーの澤野弘之さんの一声で入れてみよう、となりました。
このイントロで曲の雰囲気がガラッと変わって、よりかっこよくなったので、澤野さんは魔術師だと思いました(笑)。
もともとその部分には「シューンッ!」という、刀を振ったときのような風切り音が入っていたのですが、それも『BLEACH』らしくてかっこいいので、音源に残してもらっています。耳をすませたら「ドゥンスパドゥン」のバックにその音が聞こえるかもしれないので、ぜひ聴いてみてください。

――「最果て」はどういったテーマの楽曲でしょうか?

SennaRin作詞する際にイメージしたのは“精神世界”です。
個人的に『BLEACH』において“精神世界”がひとつのポイントでもあると思っていて、とくにサビは一護と内なる虚が掴み合って、猛スピードで落ちていくようなシーンを想像しながら書きました。
ただ、『BLEACH』と同じように聴いてくれた人の解釈を大切にしたいので、私の想いを話すのはこのくらいに留めておこうと思います。
ほかにもたくさんの意味を込めて歌詞を書いたので、聴いてくれたみなさんがどう受け取って、どう解釈してどんなシーンを思い浮かべてくれるのか、とても楽しみです。

――MVの撮影はいかがでしたか?

SennaRinMVは囚われて繋がれているシーンと、「最果て」をイメージした砂漠のシーンの2つで構成しています。
砂漠のシーンは、砂漠に見える海辺で撮影したのですが、その日はすごく風が強くて、髪の毛を散らしがら熱唱しました。
セッティングの段階では曇り空だったのですが、いざ撮影を始めたら雲ひとつない青空になって(笑)。
実は私、ものすごく晴れ女なんです。
そのパワーがこのときにも発揮されてしまいました(笑)。
一方で、「最果て」でもお世話になった澤野さんは雨男なんですけど、お仕事でご一緒するときに「Rinちゃんがいれば雨は降らない」と言って傘を持ってこないんですよ。
私の晴れ女パワーをそこまで信頼してもらっているので、責任重大です(笑)。

――「千年血戦篇」は滅却師と死神の“因縁”や“戦い”が描かれていますが、ご自身に起こった“因縁”や“戦い”はありますか?

SennaRinそれこそ「最果て」のMV撮影は、とにかく“自分との戦い”でした。
先ほどの囚われているイメージのシーンでは、たくさんの管で繋がれた状態で撮影をしたんです。
撮影中は頭も手も繋がれていて、少しも動けない状態が3~4時間ほど続いたので大変でした。
撮影の途中に、なぜか舞台セットといっしょに私を繋いでいる管が持ち上がってしまうハプニングもあって(笑)。
あのときはUFOキャッチャーの景品になった気分でした。
そんな大変な撮影だったので「いい映像にしてやる!」と頑張って、すごくインパクトのあるMVになっていると思います。

――ご自身のルーティーンはありますか?

SennaRin仕事だけでなく、プライベートでもたくさんのルーティーンを決めるタイプです。
レコーディングやライブで歌う前には、歯を磨いて口の中をリセットします。
これはずっと無自覚でやっていたのですが、周りのスタッフさんに言われて気付きました(笑)。
また、作詞をするのは家でできないタイプなので、絶対にカフェに行って、閉店まで作業します。
それこそ「最果て」の歌詞もカフェで生まれました。
頼むメニューも座る位置もいつも同じなので、そろそろ店員さんに顔を覚えられていそうです。
私は店員さんの顔は覚えました(笑)。

――お仕事する際にインプットするジャンルとして多いものは何ですか?

SennaRinインプットの材料としていちばん多いのは映画ですね。
気軽に観られるので、仕事のない日は家で4~5本は観ます。
作詞をするうえでは、テーマを決めたらひたすら同じジャンルや似たテーマの映画を観続けることが多いです。
以前「証」という、ものづくりをする人をテーマにした楽曲を作詞したときは、ノンフィクション映画やテレビ番組の『情熱大陸』をたくさん観ました。
最近は地球滅亡がテーマの映画が好きで、作詞の参考にもなるのでよく観ます。
この前『ドント・ルック・アップ』という作品を観たのですが、地球滅亡系の“あるある”を裏切るような驚きの展開に引き込まれました。
あとインプットというよりは趣味に近いのですが、やっぱり昔から音楽を聴くことが好きです。
小学生の頃によく聴いていたAimerさんのアルバムに収録されている「Re:pray」という曲が大好きで、アニメ『BLEACH』のエンディングテーマだったことを大人になってから知って。
実は昔から『BLEACH』に間接的にも触れていたと思うと、嬉しかったです。

――これからの放送に向けてファンの方々に向けてメッセージをお願いします。

SennaRin『BLEACH』のエンディングテーマを担当することが決まったときにたくさんのあたたかいコメントをいただいて、『BLEACH』を愛する人たちの熱量を強く感じました。
『BLEACH』を人生の励みや教訓にしている人は多いと思いますし、私もそのひとりです。
そんな作品のエンディングテーマを担当できるなんて、本当に嬉しい気持ちでいっぱいです!
「千年血戦篇」とともに「最果て」も、たくさんの方に好きになってもらえたら嬉しいです。

Tweet translation.

|| ◤ STAFF & CAST INTERVIEW #3 ◢ || Updated every Sunday ━━━━━━━ ED theme artist ┈┈┈┈┈┈┈┈┈┈┈ #SennaRin Please take a look!

Site: https://bleach-anime.com/special/interview/03.html

If you like what you see please hit the like and follow buttons. Please check out the newest page of my comic as well as past pages and chapter here https://jcrcomicarts.wordpress.com/2022/10/22/unbelievable-ch-9-red-skies-rising-pg3/. This is Jcrcomicarts saying thank you for reading.

About JCR Comic Arts

I am a gamer into fighting games perferablly such as King Of Fighters and Street Fighters. Also DMC and Ninja Gaiden as well. In recent years I have become a fan of two shooters. Fear and Resistance."
This entry was posted in action, adventure, anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment